#OMD3nails! Day 24 – Flames

Hello! Today I will be showing you my post for day 24 – flames. Now this ideas is very different and slightly out of my comfort zone but I like pushing boundaries with this challenge.

I created a dramatic accent nail for this design using a false nail which is very impractical and I took it off after photographing the design because I couldn’t even type with it on and almost poked my eye out 😀

flames2_ljmoo123

I painted all of my nails black using Orly’s Liquid Vinyl polish and added a goal stud to the bottom of each nail. Basic, but I didn’t want to detract attention from the ‘wild nail’. I was slightly inspired by the Hunger Games series, in particularly Catching fire, for this design and wanted to stick with that colour scheme.

flames_ljmoo123

To create the accent nail, I cut a white false nail into a flame shape at an angle. I filed the edges to make it a bit less sharp but it was still lethal! I applied the false nail onto my nail using sticker tabs which I much prefer to glue because they don’t destroy your nails but still provide a strong base. You may notice that I’ve used my right hand for photographs this time – this is because I accidentally snapped the nail which I’m using as the accent 😦 It was a sad moment… but at least I used it to my advantage and it saved me from filing down another nail.

flames4_ljmoo123

To create the flame effect, I used a neon yellow, orange and red polish to create a no-water marble nail. I added all of the polish onto the nail and used a toothpick to swirl the colour around and make it look fiery!

flames3_ljmoo123

I topped everything with a coat of Seche Vite for an extra shine and chip protection although I pulled that pointy nail off straight away to avoid injury!

Let me know what you think of this design. It’s a bit different and no good for everyday wear although it would be cool for a party and I think it would match a Hunger Games theme. Katniss Everdeen or Effie Trinket would rock this design. I’m getting carried away. But you get my idea.

Thank you for reading! New post really soon!

prompts



Leave a Reply

