#OMD3nails! Day 20 – Jewels

Hello! I’ve decided to skip day 19 (lipstick) for now and move onto today’s prompt which is jewels.

5jewels_ljmoo123

For this theme, I decided to look at various precious stones. I chose to focus on diamond, amethyst, ruby, sapphire and opal. I added some simple spots onto each nail in a slightly different colour to the base. I then added a small dimante from my ever so loved Primark nail art wheel.

4jewels_ljmoo123

For this manicure, I used a lot of different polishes. After applying a base coat, I added mainly metallic base colours to resemble the colours of the jewels.

jewels_ljmoo123

Starting with my smallest nail and going left to right, I used the following base colours. For diamond I used ‘Your Majesty’ by Rimmel. Next up for amethyst, I used No7’s deep metallic purple polish called ‘Damson Dream’. My ruby nail is also by No7, this time in the shade ‘Salsa’. I used ‘Love Nails’ by Sinful Colours for my sapphire nail. Finally on my thumb nail, I used a lilac shade by Barry M called ‘Berry Ice Cream’.

2jewels_ljmoo123

To create the dots, I used a small dotting tool and a similar nail polish to the base. On the diamond nail, I used a grey flormar polish with the code WL03. On top of Damson Dream, I used No7 once again in the shade ‘Galaxy’ which is a very pretty deep metallic polish with silver and purple glitter. I finally found out the shade of this Essie polish! It’s called ‘Leading Lady’. Next up on my sapphire design, I used Avon’s turquoise mineral crush polish. Finally, I topped my lilac nail with several coats of Avon’s Opal polish.

6jewels_ljmoo123

I finished my nails with a rounded gem on my little finger and middle finger, a pearly looking teardrop shape on my thumb to match the opal and on my remaining nails, I added an s-shaped silver gem.

Not my favourite design out of all of the manis I’ve created however, these nails look really pretty in the sun due to the metallic polish, just like real jewels.

7jewels_ljmoo123

That’s all for today’s post! Tomorrow’s theme is travel so stay tuned! Thanks for reading!

prompts

Leave a Reply

