Born Pretty review – water decals and stamping plate

Hello! Several weeks ago now, I mentioned that I was going to be working with Born Pretty – an online nail art store. Born Pretty sell every nail art item that you can imagine, from nail decals to gems and charms! They even sell some cute phone cases and other random accessories!

Last week I received some water decals and a new stamping plate from the store! Both items are so cute and you can purchase them yourself online from the Born Pretty online store!

Water Decals

I’ve tried nail wraps in the past, however, I’ve never tried water decals! I was very excited when Born Pretty sent me these rose water decals. They kind of remind me of a Cath Kidson design, they are soooo pretty! I honestly can’t think of many negative points about these water decals. Having never used them before, I was a little unsure how they work but the born pretty store have a mini set of instructions which I followed:

1. Trim, clean and polish the fingernails; paint the background colour on the fingernails and dry it out.
2. Remove the film of product,cut out the patter and plunge it into water 10-20 seconds.
3. Moisten the fingernails, stick the patter in position.
4. Sop up the water with a paper towel and blow dry.
5. Cap with clear nail polish and blow dry.

I didn’t stick to all of the steps, for example, I skipped the blow drying part as I used my Seche Vite top coat so it didn’t take long for them to dry at all.

I thought that these nail decals were relatively easy to apply having never tried them before. Although, I did find it a bit difficult to apply the first decal (my little nail), it got much easier as I continued. It’s hard to try to avoid air bubbles at first but as they dry and a top coat is added, the nail smooths out.

rose water decals_ljmoo123

Below I have a step by step guide to show how I used the water decals:
step by step water decals_ljmoo1231. I began by peeling off the protective film from the decal paper

2. I cut out a little square of the decal paper big enough to cover my smallest nail. This was the only annoying part to the decals – trying to cut out the correct size! I discovered it’s better to cut the paper slightly bigger than you need as you can always file around it. I painted my nails with a base coat and a basic nude colour by OPI.

3. As you can see in picture three, I decided to cut around the bottom of the paper and added a curved edge because it’s slightly difficult to remove the decal from around the nail cuticle area. I then soaked the paper in a small bowl of water for about 20 seconds.

4. After this point, I just used a pair of tweezers to gently remove the backing paper from the decal. I didn’t have to pull the backing paper away, it basically fell off after being soaked in the water for so long.

5. I then placed the thin water decal layer onto my nail and gently pressed it down, smoothing out the air bubbles. It’s kind of like applying a screen protector to your phone 😀 except it’s much easier! I used a nail file to gently remove any excess.

6. After the nails dried (I didn’t use a blow dryer) I added a top coat and my nails were good to go!

I was really impressed with these decals and would definitely buy them again. After wearing them for 4 days, there was very little sign of chipping! The best part is, the water decals are available in loads of different designs! I’d love to try more of them!

I was slightly concerned at the size of the water decal sheet. At first, I wasn’t sure if there was enough to cover each nail. In the picture above, the water decal that I’m holding in my hand was the amount left over after I’d completed one hand so, there was plenty left for my other hand. If you do have slightly bigger nails than me however, it may be best to order two squares of the decal paper, even when you have a 10% discount code 🙂 You can purchase this particular water decal here

Stamping Plate 

Next up, I tried out this amazing stamping plate! If you’re not sure what stamping is, take a look at my stamping guide that I previously posted! I chose this stamping plate mainly because of all of the different patterns! Unlike most stamping plates, the whole plate is filled with this pattern and you just put polish on the section that you want.

plate_ljmoo123

I thought this plate was really pretty! It’s made up of random shapes and swirls. I have both the bundle monster and some konad plates and although this plate is quite cheap, it’s pretty good quality.

stamping plate nails _ ljmoo123

I stamped over my Barry M Gelly polish in the shade Blueberry I then used a white konad polish with the stamping plate. I really like how you can get a different part of the design each time with the plate! You always have to work pretty quickly with stamping but I found that this plate wasn’t etched very deeply so the polish dried extremely quickly…meaning I had to work at a faster speed! The design still looks really pretty though and worked well even though it was a little patchy in places due to the dried polish 😦 I would probably try out more Born Pretty plates in the future but hopefully, some of the other designs are etched deeper into the plate to improve the stamping and detail of the design.  At the time of writing this post, this plate is currently out of stock 😦 but you can order it when more stock is available here.

That’s all for today! Thanks for reading and I hope these reviews helped!

Remember, if you want to order any of these products, you can use my Born Pretty discount code at the check out – NAC10K31

Water Decals

Stamping Plates 

Please note: These products were sent to me by Born Pretty as a Press Sample review. This does not change my views in any way and all of the above comments are my own thoughts and personal opinions of the products.
4 thoughts on “Born Pretty review – water decals and stamping plate

  1. You’re so right – these really remind me of Cath Kidston! I used to hate her patterns, but they’re growing on me, especially on nails, as it’s not as aggressive as, let’s say a handbag.

    Never tried decals like this!

    • Yeh I don’t think I would really buy a handbag with the pattern on, it may be a little too much but I LOVE the cath kidson/rose/pastel nail look!
      I love these decals so much! I can’t believe how they didn’t chip and they’re so easy to apply!

  2. Pingback: #OMD3 nails! Day 3 – Silver | The Adventures of a Nail Artoholic

  3. Pingback: A look back… | The Adventures of a Nail Artoholic

Leave a Reply

