OMD2 July Nail Challenge! Day 2- Coral

I’m back for day 2 of the OMD2 challenge! I’m absolutely loving this challenge so far! Waking up every morning to paint a new design on my nails with inspiration is my idea of what makes a great summer. I’ve actually resorted to painting a different design on each hand to ensure that I can complete as many challenges as possible!

Coral nails_ljmoo123

When I saw that today’s theme was coral, I immediately knew that I was going to use this bright pinky/coral polish from my amazing nails inc diary. If you read my blog a lot (thank you!), you will be aware that I love my Barry M nail art pens. In fact, I use them in to create the majority of my designs! Once again, I put my Barry M nail art pen to good use today and incorporated a little aztec into my coral nail design.

coral day 2_ljmoo123

To create this design, I used the very small amount of Alpine Snow polish that I had left as my base colour. Alpine Snow by OPI has to be my most used polish and favourite white nail polish ever. I also used some striping tape (99p random lucky find in Newlook), Sloane Avenue  coral polish from my Nails inc. diary, my Barry M nail art pen in black, a black striper and my Seche Vite topcoat.

Here are the steps to follow if you wish to re-create my design:

Step 1- Apply a base coat and a white base colour. Allow to dry completely or add a fast drying top coat to speed up the process

Step 2-  Add two pieces of striping tape to section off the nail. You basically want to separate the nail into 3 parts. If you look at the picture above, I placed striping tape where the vertical black lines are – where the white polish ends.

Step 3- Paint the edges of the nail with the coral polish (or colour of your choice). Use the striping tap as a guide and to ensure that the edges are neat.

Step 4- Use a black striper to add vertical lines where the striping tape was to frame the white stripe.

Step 5- Use the black nail art pen or striper to add random aztec shapes, zigzags, lines and triangles inside the white stripes.

Finish off with a topcoat to prevent chipping and to speed up the drying process.

As you can see, I created a slightly different design on my thumb. I basically reversed the design by painting the coral stripe in the middle and filling the rest of the nail with my random aztec design. I think I actually prefer this version of the design and if I was to do it again, I would try the reversed design on all of my nails or as an accent nail with a plain polish. You could also try this design out with all different colour combinations! You could make these nails match any outfit!

coral thumb_ljmoo123

Tomorrow’s challenge is lavender. I have a few ideas for this design but all will be revealed on tomorrow’s post!

OMD2-NAIL-CHALLENGE-JULY-14

Challenges

Thanks for reading!

OMD Reference page

2 thoughts on “OMD2 July Nail Challenge! Day 2- Coral

  1. Pingback: Nails Inc Reviews! | The Adventures of a Nail Artoholic

Leave a Reply

