Final (late) Easter Nails!

Hello! Sorry for the delayed post, it’s been a busy Easter! Today I will be providing the steps that you need to follow in order to create the final, middle nail of my Easter mixed nail art. easter nails2_ljmoo123

As you may have seen on my blog before, I love this textured nail look. It’s the velvet flocking powder effect which is basically a normal polish with a textured look and it feels soft like velvet. Although it may not look very Easter-like, I thought the green colour was perfect for spring grass and reminded me of Easter. It’s good to have a relatively plain, bold nail when the other nail designs are quite detailed.

I previously showed my ‘Go Green day’ nails where I used the same flocking powder.

Green Velvet nails

Green velvet nails

As I said, to create this design, I used flocking powder which is available from craft stores and online retail stores such as Amazon. You can also use ‘velvet effect’ powder designed for nail use, which can be purchased from Superdrug in a variety of colours. I purchased 4 different colours of flocking powder from Dunelm Mill for a reduced price of 99p about a year ago. The pack included 2 shades of blue and 2 shades of green. Other colours were available but unfortunately, Dunelm has now stopped selling craft items in their stores :(.

Flocking powder

Flocking/Velvet powder

I also used flocking powder to create my textured Christmas tree nails even though they didn’t really turn out as planned and I was a little disappointed… You can see the nail tutorial and step by step images here.

So how do you use flocking/velvet powder? Just follow these steps:

Step 1– Apply a normal base coat in order to protect your natural nails

Step 2– Apply a base colour that is similar to the colour of the flocking/velvet powder that you are using. I used a Barry M polish in the shade Spring Green which is very bright and has an appropriate name because it really is a spring colour! The polish doesn’t have to be an exact match but the flocking powder may become thin and some of the colour may be visible.

Step 3– Apply a second coat of the base colour one nail at a time. While the polish is still wet, use tweezers to drop the powder onto the wet nail. It’s better to add too much powder than too little so apply a generous amount and collect the excess later. I would advise using a small tub or tray to catch the excess powder, this way, there is little waste.

Step 4– Gently press the flocking/velvet powder onto the nail, use a fan brush to remove an excess.

Flocking Powder and Fan Brush used

Flocking Powder and Fan Brush used

Step 5– Repeat the process for the remaining nails, DO NOT apply a topcoat! A top coat will remove the texture and effect of the velvet nails.

Because a topcoat can’t be used, it is normal for some chipping to occur after a few days. I can usually wear these nails for around 4 days. .

You can also purchase a variety of flocking powder colours from the Born Pretty Store, here. Be sure to use my discount code – LMX31 which allows you to receive 10% off your order! 😀

New posts soon!

2 thoughts on “Final (late) Easter Nails!

Leave a Reply

