Easter Nails – Creme Egg!

Some of you may remember that during the Christmas season, I did a ‘Countdown to Christmas’ blogging system which involved me revealing a new nail design and a new post almost everyday as Christmas approached. I’m pleased to announce that I will be doing a similar scheme to show you some Easter nail art designs! Instead of revealing a new nail each day, I will simply do a more detailed look at each nail design each day to show you some techniques and designs that you can use on your nails for Easter!

Easter nails_ljmoo123

The nail designs range in difficulty. The creme egg nail is probably the most difficult design because the words require a very steady hand and a lot of patience!easter nails2_ljmoo123Today I will be providing the details that you need to create the second nail, inspired by the foil wrapper of a creme egg and my creme egg mug which I got with an Easter egg last year. I think it’s fair to say I like creme eggs 🙂 I started to create these nails last year before my blogging days. My design skills have improved slightly since then though.

I happened to have polish colours that were almost a perfect match. For the red colour, I used ‘Salsa‘ by No7 from Boots which is a red shimmer polish. For the purple part, I used ‘Vivid Violet‘, also by No7 which is just like the metallic purple foil of a creme egg wrapper. I used a striper brush and my Models Own HyperGel white polish for the stripe in the centre.

For a step by step guide on how to create the creme egg nail keep reading:

Step 1- Use striping tape to divide the nail into two sections. Paint the bottom half purple and the top half red.

Step 2- Carefully remove the striping tape while the polish is still wet. Fill in this gap with white polish.

creme egg background_ljmoo123

Base colour after step two

Step 3- Use a lemon yellow polish (mine is a basic yellow polish from claire’s) to create the yellow centre. I just used the polish brush to create a very rough shape but you could use a dotting tool if you want to have a little more control over the shape. I applied a fast drying top coat after this, to speed up the drying process of the yellow polish as I applied quite a thick layer

Step 4- The next step requires quite a steady hand! Use an extremely small dotting tool or toothpick and some purple polish or even acrylic paint. Create one letter at a time, slowly, using a dotting motion for more control over the letters. I managed to mess up the ‘m’ letter a little as I was running out of space and it smudged 😦 You can still see the idea was there though 😉

Step 5- Apply a top coat to prevent your hard work and creme egg masterpiece from chipping!

creme egg_ljmoo123

People always ask how I create these designs on my right hand (I’m right-handed). For most designs, I attempt to recreate the design with my non-dominant hand however, in this case, I didn’t even try to write ‘creme egg’ because my hand isn’t that steady! Instead, I just skipped step four and created the yellow shape instead.

That is all for today! Come back soon for details on how to create the other nails and leave a comment if you wish, letting me know what you think! As always, if you have any suggestions, you can use my contact page to send me your ideas!

N.B: This post has not been sponsored by Cadbury Creme egg in any way, all opinions are my own.
3 thoughts on “Easter Nails – Creme Egg!

  1. Thank you! I’ve just taken a look at your blog and it is really amazing! I love your dotting tool guide! I’ll blog the award post as soon as possible! Thanks again for the nomination 🙂

  2. Pingback: Easter Nails – Creme Egg! | The Adventures of a Nail Artoholic

Leave a Reply

