Matte Zebra Nails!

Hello fellow nailartoholics 😉

Today I will be showing you a design which I painted on some false nails sets which hopefully sometime in the future, I will be able to sell via my blog or Etsy but at the moment, they are available to just friends and family as my school work takes over and my blog continues to grow.

These are pretty easy to create if you have the correct polishes. I love this technique and you can use pretty much any colour and any pattern. The opportunities are endless!

I decided to use the classic colours of this technique by using a black polish by Orly. There are two ways that you can create this look; you can use either a matte base colour and a gloss topcoat to create the design OR you can do what I did and use a normal base colour and a matte topcoat. Whichever method that you choose to use, the effect will still look amazing!

matte zebra nails

In order to create the design above, simply follow these simple steps:

Step 1- Apply a base coat to protect the natural nail and prevent the colours from staining the nail.

Step 2- Apply either your matte base colour or your normal gloss base colour. I used ‘Liquid Vinyl’ by Orly.

Step 3- If you used a matte base colour skip this step. If not, apply a matte top coat at this point. I used a matte topcoat by Rimmel which I absolutely love! You simply paint on one thin coat and your glossy polish is transformed into a smooth matte finish manicure just like magic!

Step 4- Take a basic striper or a thin brush. Use a normal gloss topcoat with a striper and let your imagination run wild! I created the zebra print by swiping the brush back and forth the nail, alternating from each side of the nail. If you used a normal polish in step 2, you can just use this polish instead of a gloss top coat to create the design.

Normally, I would say apply a top coat but do not use a top coat this time! This will just destroy the effect and get rid of the matte finish.

matte zebra print_ljmoo123

An alternative idea for this method is to do spots with a dotting tool! I may just try this idea out soon so be sure to watch this space!

In the meantime, if you have any requests, please feel free to leave a comment or use my brand new Contact page!

Leave a Reply

