Review- Sally Hansen ‘No Chip’ acrylic top coat

Hello, I’m back! Exam season is currently in full swing so blogging is kind of towards the back of my mind right now, but I have lots of new content for my next few posts!
In my previous post, I mentioned that I would be doing a topcoat review which is what I will be showing you today!

No chip top coat

 

Cath Kidson sally hansen_ljmoo123I must clearly state that this post was not endorsed or sponsored by any of the products or their brands. The views are completely my own from personal use and experience. Please also consider that I may have different opinions on the polishes as I use them regularly. This is only a guide.

I put five different top coats to the test on my latest Cath Kidson inspired mani (step by step details soon). The top coats that I used were:
• Sally Hansen No chip acrylic top coat
• Sally Hansen double duty base coat and top coat
• Seche Vite topcoat
• Nails inc. topcoat
• Collection clear polish (I thought it was a topcoat when I bought it, but, it’s actually just a clear polish. I still thought that I could try it as a topcoat)

I will be giving each polish a mark out of 10 ( 10 being the best) for brush quality and how easy it is to apply. I will be commenting on how well it prevents chipping and whether I would buy it again. I will also be providing an overall score out of 10, considering all of the factors. This is so you can see a clear comparison of the polishes.

Because I want to give quite a detailed explanation, I will be revealing a new review everyday this week and then I will be doing an overall comparison at the end of the week. Today I will be focusing on Sally Hansen ‘No Chip’ acrylic top coat.

So last time I briefly mentioned how I couldn’t wait to rant about Sally Hansen’s NO CHIP topcoat because it does the exact opposite of what it claims to do.  Every single time that I have used this top coat in the past, the nail polish forms many cracks through the nail and you literally only have to tap your nail for a big chunk if polish to fall off. It’s absolutely typical the only time that it hasn’t chipped, is on this design when I wanted to prove that it really does chip… It does however still have lots of those small cracks throughout the nail which aren’t really visible on camera. Typical! I can honestly say though that if you could actually see this nail close up, you would be able to tell that this is a very poor quality polish. Also if you look on Boots or even the Sally Hansen website, the reviews all say the same.

Enough with the huge disadvantage of this polish and onto a more positive side. I really like the brush and the thin consistency of the polish. That’s about it really, there isn’t much else to like.

Does it chip easily? Yes, very easily within a few hours
Brush quality: 7/10
Easiness of application: 7/10
Would I buy it again? NO NO NO!
Overall score: 3/10

The fact that this polish chips is just a major bad point which is why I have given it a score of 3. To be honest, your polish probably lasts longer without using it.

Tomorrow I will be reviewing another top coat also by Sally Hansen- the Double Duty polish.

Bye for now 🙂

One thought on “Review- Sally Hansen ‘No Chip’ acrylic top coat

  1. Pingback: Battle of the Top Coats! | The Adventures of a Nail Artoholic

Leave a Reply

